News Around

Pakistan elected as a Member of the International Telecommunication Union

During the elections held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE) on Monday, Pakistan bagged a four-year term (2018-2022) for the Administrative Council of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU). Pakistan secured 155 out of a total 177 votes to become one of the 13 countries elected to this significant body from the Asia and Australasia region.

As a member, Pakistan will continue to remain actively engaged with the work of the council and in collaboration with member states endeavor to make ITU stronger and more responsive to the contemporary challenges and opportunities in ICTs.

Pakistan was one of the 13 Countries elected to this important body from the Asia & Australasia region.

The winning Member States, for the ITU Council from 2019-2022, are:

Region A — The Americas (9 seats) – Argentina; Bahamas; Brazil; Canada; Cuba; El Salvador; Mexico; Paraguay; United States.

Region B — Western Europe (8 seats) – France; Germany; Greece; Hungary; Italy; Spain; Switzerland; Turkey.

Region C — Eastern Europe and Northern Asia (5 seats) – Azerbaijan; Czech Republic; Poland; Romania; Russian Federation.

Region D — Africa (13 seats) – Algeria; Burkina Faso; Côte d’Ivoire; Egypt; Ghana; Kenya; Morocco; Nigeria; Rwanda; Senegal; South Africa; Tunisia; Uganda.

Region E — Asia and Australasia (13 seats) – Australia; China; India; Indonesia; Iran (Islamic Republic of); Japan; South Korea; Kuwait; Pakistan; Philippines; Saudi Arabia; Thailand; United Arab Emirates.

Related Articles

Wahab Riaz and wife’s Twitter banter on PSL is all you need to read today

Brands Magazine

Pakistan Army Celebrates Independence Continuing Their Duty of Defense

Isra Shams

Is it the end of Airbus A380 Superjumbo?

Mehreen Ahsaan Qazi