Facebook Messenger now gives anyone the option to delete a regretful or mistaken message from their chat history.
Facebook initially promised the feature after that multiple people said Facebook messages they received from CEO Mark Zuckerberg later appeared to have been deleted while their own messages remained. At the time, Facebook told TechCrunch Zuckerberg’s messages were deleted for security purposes.
For up to 10 minutes after sending a Facebook Message, the sender can tap on it and they’ll find the delete button has been replaced by “Remove for you,” but there’s now also a “Remove for everyone” option that pulls the message from recipients’ inboxes. They’ll see an alert that you removed a message in its place, and can still flag the message to Facebook, which will retain the content briefly to see if it’s reported. The feature could make people more comfortable having honest conversations or using Messenger for flirting since they can second-guess what they send, but it won’t let people change ancient history.
Following the report, Facebook said it would publicly launch the feature to let users remove their messages from their chat history. Facebook reportedly said it would not have Zuckerberg delete his messages until the feature was publicly launched.