News Around Uncategorized

APNS elects its new Executive Committee for 2018-19

The Annual General Council Meeting of All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS) Executive Committee was held in Karachi, on Saturday (31st March). The General Council elected the Executive Committee for 2018-19, chalking out the strategies to solve all major and minor problems related to the newspapers industry.

Under the Chairmanship of Mr. Sarmad Ali, President APNS, the Annual General Council unanimously accepted and approved the report of the Executive Committee for the upcoming year as well as the Annual Accounts of the Society 2017.

As a result of the Annual General Council Meeting, the committee unanimously elected Hameed Haroon as President, Kazi Asad Abid as Senior Vice President, Mehtab Khan as Vice President, Sarmad Ali as Secretary General, Bilal Mehmood as Joint Secretary and Waseem Ahmed as Finance Secretary of the Society for the year 2018-19.

The General Council attended by 169 full members from across the country, formed an Election Commission headed by Syed Sajjad Bokhari, Nasir Daad Baloch and Javid Ahmed as members. The Election Commission conducted the election of the Executive Committee for the year 2018-19.

The following were elected unopposed:

Rawalpindi/Islamabad Daily Seats: Daily Ausaf, Islamabad and Daily Sahafat, Islamabad.

News & News Comments Periodical (Punjab / KPK): Weekly Azm / Taaqat Group, Lahore

News & News Comments Periodical (Sindh / Balochistan): Fortnightly Ibrat Magazine, Hyderabad.

News & News Comments Periodicals (General): Monthly Cricketer, Karachi

The Election Commission conducted the election to the Executive Committee for the year 2018-19. Following were elected by secret ballot:

Karachi Daily Seats: Daily Aghaz, Daily Business Recorder, Daily Dawn, Daily Deyanat, Daily Express and Daily Jasarat.

Lahore Daily Seats: Daily Din, Daily Dunya, Daily Jang, Daily Nawa-i-Waqt, Daily Pakistan and Daily Tijarat.

Balochistan Daily Seats: Daily Awam, Quetta and Daily Mashriq, Quetta.

Punjab (excluding Lahore/Rwp/Ibd.): Daily Aftab Multan, Daily Business Report Faisalabad and Daily Paigham, Faisalabad.

Khyber Pakhtoon Khwa Daily Seats: Daily Mashriq and Daily Wahdat.

Sindh (Excluding Karachi) Dailies: Daily Kaleem, Sukkur and Daily Kawish, Hyderabad.

Periodicals Seats: Monthly Kiran Digest Karachi, Monthly Naya Rukh Karachi, Weekly Nikhar Islamabad and Monthly Roohani Digest, Karachi.

General Seats (Regional Dailies): Daily Sayadat, Bahawalpur and Daily Tijarati Rahbar, Faisalabad

General Seats (Metropolitan Dailies): Daily City 42, Lahore and Daily Pakistan Observer, Islamabad.

The Executive Committee elected Fauzia Shaheen, Monthly Dastak, Karachi on woman – publishers seat.

The General Council also congratulated Dr. Waqar Yousuf Azeemi for his daughter, Kanza Azeemi’s achievement, who was bestowed with the top award at Oxford University being the fist Pakistani who achieved the prestigious award.

The newly elected Executive Committee appreciated the performance of the Election Commission for conducting transparent elections. The members gave standing ovation to the Office Bearers for the year 2017-18 for their hard work to solve the problems faced by member publications.

On account of the fair elections and new body of All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS), the team of Brands Magazine congratulates the newly elected Executive Committee and Mr. Hameed Haroon for being elected as the new President of APNS. We wish you the best of luck for the preceding year!

Related Articles

Manufacturers fear collapse of automotive industry

Fareeha Imdad

Trump to visit Pakistan as soon as he assumes his role as President

Brands Magazine

Columbia University accidentally accepts application of hundreds of students

Isra Shams