Many users were relieved after WhatsApp rolled out its much-awaited “Delete for Everyone” feature. However, just because the message does not appear, it doesn’t mean that it has been deleted.
A new report claims that the deleted messages are still available on the device and can be accessed easily. According to the Spanish Android blog Android Jefe, the deleted messages are present in the notification log of the device, adding that recipients can easily access deleted messages even if it has been deleted by the sender.
The blog further explains that the steps needed to access deleted messages. Users must download another app named ‘Notification History’ (available on Google Play). After downloading the app, users will have to search the message in the Android notification log. The notification log can be accessed without the need of an additional app.
Long press the home screen, then tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log. You can then access the system’s notification log.
However, there are a few limitations. Just the first 100 characters of the deleted message will be visible and only the messages that have generated a notification on the device, or have been seen, interacted with can be retrieved.
Moreover, the notification log only saves the messages on the device until it’s restarted. Once restarted, we noticed that the log was cleared.